Steve Eboh Appointed as Acting President of AGN

A glimmer of hope in lin­gering crisis of the Actors Guild of Nigeria seems to be in sight, with recent resolution of stakeholders in the guild to take the bull by the horn and chart a new course for the future of the ailing guild. The stakeholders’ congress was convened by Mr Agility Onwu­ra (Chairman AGN Abuja & Chair­man of all State Chairmen),which was well attended, resolved to set up an 11 man interim working committee to supervise the affairs of the guild and conduct elections. The interim working committee is headed by Steve Eboh.
These and several others were contained in a communique that was issued at the end of the con­gress, part of which are captured below.
“In the quest not to leave a lacu­na in the governance of the Actors guild of Nigeria National Executive; the chairman of all the chairmen of the state chapters (Mr Agility Onwurah) in line with paragraph four of the judgment convened a congress on the 9th of June, 2016 at Upcountry Hotel Ltd, Awka, Anambra State.
The essence of the meeting was to discuss and seek a lasting solu­tion to the lingering crisis in the Guild and the need to constitute a solid structure to resuscitate the guild. The congress was attended by the chairmen, representatives and stakeholders. However, the de­liberation was hinged on the judg­ment of March 2015 by the Federal High Court sitting in Lagos headed by Justice J.T. Tshoho.
The provisions of the judgment were extensively deliberated upon by all, taking special cognizance of the paragraph four which states that the 1st and 2nd defendant should surrender all paraphernalia of their offices to the guild”.
At the end of the congress, the house decided to elect an 11 man committee headed by Steve Eboh. The full list of members have the following; Steve Eboh – Chairman, Hakeem Rhaman – Vice Chair­man, Renell Badejo – Secretary, Bob Emmanuel Udokwu – Adviser, Ochendo Mc Smith – PRO, Rita Tony Edochie – Member, Ernest Obi – Member, Vitalis Ndubisi – Member, Zenith Abubarka – Mem­ber, Rita Daniels – Member, Edith Irabor – Member” .
The terms of reference for the committee, as stated in the com­munique, is primarily to take over the leadership of the guild pending when an election is conducted.

Originally posted 2016-06-15 03:04:21.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *